Front Suspension Of Robin Hood 2B

Guest Viper

Hi everyone I'm new to this so hope this goes through ok.I purchased this Robin B 2002 yesterday,1908214.

I have a big problem with the front suspension, I have never seen this style before, it has two dampers but the problem is the lower damper bolt seems to be grinding the inside of the alloy wheel. I have no idea how this is happening or why. I'm sure it has something to do with the inner damper of the spring. I have a number of photographs if anybody can please help. I think it is a sliding system??? The previous owner said I can get a conversion kit???

Assuming it's sliding pillar (see here for identification http://nw.rhocar.org/identification.htm ) then the griding on the inside of the wheel is probable wear that can fairly easily be rectified.

Wishbone conversions are available and a few people have done them but they generally don't come that cheap. There's also plenty of cars still running sliding pillars with satisfied owners.

Best advise as you've just bought the car is to get the suspension working as it should and get out and enjoy the car. You may then decide that a wishbone conversion isn't worth the additional cost and the money could be better spent on other modifications.

• Like 1

Thanks Richard, I will strip it down tomorrow and have a look, it can only be the damper within the spring but my brain still can't get around the fact, unless the damper is pushing down, but the front doesn't even move it is rock solid?

Hi Mate

As Rich states, better off keeping what you have and trying first. :db:

If you get them set up properly then they will perform pretty good. Only issue I had was lots of under steer into high speed corners, but low speed cornering managed to keep up with the wishbone guys. Once you know what to expect then no nasty suprises :crazy:

To help you out I have attached a basic drawing of the suspension together with some tips to improve the setup and performance.