Zetec Rattle

nelmo

On a drive today, my 2L blacktop Zetec started a very worrying rattle - seems to be worst on light acceleration and actually doesn't seem to happen at all on hard acceleration. At idle, it's sometimes there but not always, weirdly. Seems ok below 2000 rpm, no smoke, no loss of power etc.

I checked for obvious loose items in the engine bay but doesn't seem to be anything - sounds internal :(

I've never done any work on an engine before, just bought a crated one for my build. It's done 3k miles since I fitted it...

Any suggestions about how I continue? What to try/look for?

Theres summat strange going on here.

Its my grandsons 21st birthday next week, so I booked an evening session at Brands

on Monday for him to drive.

I changed to the trackday tyres & went for a checkout run this morning.

I came back with a really worrying rattle too. Top end, intermittent, seems less at higher revs.

Sometimes there at idle, sometimes not. Ive got some hydraulic lifter additive from ECP in desperation

& I'll be trying it out tomorrow. If it doesnt work, I'm knackered & he''ll have to put up with an

MX5 on crappy tyres.

Some birthday treat!

Wow, that is creepy - so you think that might be the issue, dirt in the oil?

I've just gone out and also found a cracked plastic adaptor that the temp coolant sensor screws into :diablo: so I'm not going anywhere for a while - let me know if the additive does the trick.

Not sure about oil pressure, my gauge isn't calibrated and is always off the scale.

Smelt the cap, smells of petrol which sounds dodgy...

I remember you saying it's not been turned and was running really rich. If your oil smells like petrol it's because the extra fuel going in is getting mixed with the oil which is a big problem as it will nacker your bearings as it isn't a lubricant, one possible reason why my big end bearings got destroyed as mine oil was pertoly

• Like 1

Interesting - but is that likely in 3k miles?