Insurance Companies

WallerZ

Getting closer to finishing the Zero I have begun looking into insurance.

Problems straight away I have found (from A-Plan) :

• Age (Expected this one)
  • Second car - Won't be insured due to being my only car (selling my Punto to fund the running of the Zero and afford my final year course fees)
  • Experience - Won't be insured as I have no experience (of at least a year) on a rear wheel drive performance car.

Does anybody know of any insurers that may overlook these little issues?

Cheers,

Zach

This was with A-Plan, Had to have my own car - main policy holder.

I'm at Uni so won't need a car, will probably keep the Zero locked up over winter and have it in the summer/warmer months, maybe a month or two to start with (patience doesn't seem to work with this car...lol) It wasn't just RWD experience, had to have the experience of a similar car, example used was a BMW Z4. I couldn't help but laugh at them for the suggestion asking if they were serious! To buy one, run and insure it for a year, would cost me more than building the Zero!

Adrian Flux have just quoted me for £675 with 5k miles and as my only car. Quite happily take that with my age and "experience". Will include 30 day period of VIN number driving for IVA too.

• Like 1

Guest aidankinnell

I got insured via A Plan yesterday, £250ish for me (29) on 4000 miles an no experience. I have a second car which is the only difference to your situation.

I dealt with Claire at the Thatcham branch, very helpful. Think the insurance was underwriten KGM. It's more than I wanted to pay but was having issues with my age as the IVA is only 2 weeks away so needed it sorted.

Starting to get somewhere with a couple quotes now, some looking very good indeed! Panic stations are being aborted, thought I'd fall at the last hurdle of insuring the thing! Lol. Main issue with most appears to be the age. Damn stereotypes!