New Owner, One Day Old And Overheated. Need Help!

Guest Jtomo

Guest Jtomo

Hi, im a new member and just bought a robin hood. On driving the car back, i noticed the coolant temp up over 120 deg. Sated! Seemed high. I stopped several times on the way home to let it cool. The seller had told me it ran hot, 100 deg he said!....not 120 deg! Anyhow, managed to get home ok. I assume the wind through the nose cone kept the rad just cool enough not to blow!

Went out yesterday with my son. Can kept stalling in low gears and i had to keep restarting. The engine got hlt again, up over 120 deg so i tried to trickle home, but alas did not make it before the engine started smoking and i lost power.

So 1 day old, my new dream car is stuck in the garrage! Really upset.

Im no mechanic, in fact im hopeless with engines, so i need some help, any help! Is anyone on here local enough to spare me a couple of hours to help understand whats wrong and hopefully help repair?

Guest Tim Norman

A few things to check;

• Can air get past the rad without going through it. If it can, stop it.
  • Can the hot air get out from under the bonnet. If it can't, help it.
  • What temp does the thermostat open. A pinto makes more power if it opens at 74 degrees. Modern cars run much hotter for economy.
  • Are all the waterways clear. Clogged waterways won't help.
  • Is you water pump working. I bought a Jago once and found out that the water pump impellers had actually disintegrated!
  • All easily fixable

If you put the word out for help on here I am sure there are members closer than me who will come and help for the usual fee of tea, bicckies and the odd bacon sarnie!

Don't get too disheartened, the fixes above are cheap and easy, even for a non mechanic :db:

Hi Jtomo,