Superspec Stuttering

deano266

Hi all. I have now changed the fuel pump, fuel filter and the pre pump filter in my rover engined (fuel injected) superspec.

Initially the run was good, it was feeling good but when it got upto temperature it started to stutter. Not near as bad as it was until I went around a corner up a hill and it almost stopped like before and when engaging reverse it did stop and would only start if I put my foot flat to the floor and turn the key.

There was a slight leak coming from the fuel line at the top of the pump assembly but don't think there was enough to cause the issue.

Does anyone have any suggestions and where can I get the fuelines for it from.

Thanks in advance.

There was a slight leak coming from the fuel line at the top of the pump assembly but don't think there was enough to cause the issue.

I'm no expert but I wouldn't want even a 'slight' leak of petrol <_>

Have you got a swirl pot? Might just be fuel starvation as the fuel level gets low.

The isn't low as i have checked that visually when the pump was out.

The fuel leak is an issue i just don't think it would cause the issue.

The pump hangs in from the pump assembly into what can be described only as a large circular pool from which the pump draws the fuel from. Would this be the swirl pot but it will also happen when on a flat-ish road.

I am at a loss where the issue could be coming from as it was running fine around the time of stoneleigh after i had fixed the vacuum tube to the injection manifold.

I will be taking the car electrics apart and seeing if their could be an issue there

Just a thought if you are using the standard supplied tank that has the red & white (flow & return) hoses.

If you have the supplied red/yellow 'plastic' fuel hoses that push into the connectors, are they:

A: connected to the correct ports? (from memory I think the red is the supply)