240V Voltmeter

Guest Tim Norman

Guest Tim Norman

I am making a steampunk lamp that has a voltmeter on it On the back of the meter there are + and - terminals.

How do I wire it up?

I am thinking Live in + and live out -, am I wrong?

The meter will sit between the switch and the lamp.

Guest Tim Norman

It was sold as an "0- 250V AC Voltmeter Analogue Panel Volt Meter Analog YS-670 for 220V 240V Mains|

and every other 240v AC meter I have looked at has the same two pegs.

Jez, not being a electrician I have no idea what the negative would be, all I know is there is a live, neutral and earth.

So from the switch I take a live to the volt meter and from the vlt meter to the lamp?

The neutral goes straight to the lamp?

Guest Gargoil

If I'm reading this right, you need a live to the voltmeter + terminal and from the voltmeter + terminal to one side of the the bulb. Then the neutral to the voltmeter - and from the voltmeter - to the other side of the bulb cct.

Could be stood up and corrected, though.

Edited by Gargoil

First -- connect the meter direct across the mains (via a 13A plug ) & check that is showing around 230volts -- if not it's probably DC & a retifier will not work as that reverses one side of the wave & meter will then show around 115 volts.

If meter reads 230volt then connect direct across your lampholder.

Have fire extinguishter handy if above fails.

Up-date -- a full wave rectifier will give a 230 volt output -- so Chris is correct -- a single diode will give half voltage -- memory fail again!

Edited by florin metal works
  • Like 1