Engine Choice

Guest chelcott

Guest chelcott

im new to RH and gettingas much info as possible before diving in spoke with engine refurb place other day and said with zetec will have to decode EMU before fiting and will need to fit EMU with engine. I'm from days of stobe light, most of cars I had were bangers.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hiya, and welcome,

both engines will run with either original ecu/dizzy set ups, or you can alter eother to run on a mapable ign system sold under the megajolt or megasquirt names, ( megasquirt is ignition and fueling for injection engines)

loads more posts will follow with loads of helpful info,

hth Mitch

Guest chelcott
im new to RH and gettingas much info as possible before diving in spoke with engine refurb place other day and said with zetec will have to decode EMU before fiting and will need to fit EMU with engine. I'm from days of stobe light, most of cars I had were bangers.

cheers for that, lookslike I'll be able to go back to the good old days after all

If you get the chance, I would go for Zetec.

I just don't understand why people spend a fortune on Pintos to tune them up when a Zetec has it for a fraction of the money. I'm just going through the conversion now and wish I had gone the Zetec route during the build.

Guest chelcott
If you get the chance, I would go for Zetec.

I just don't understand why people spend a fortune on Pintos to tune them up when a Zetec has it for a fraction of the money. I'm just going through the conversion now and wish I had gone the Zetec route during the build.

So will you have to install ignition control device and not dizzy?

Guest chris brown

Zetec with mapable ECU and throttle bodies would be my choice but remember if you go for an engine later than 1995 you will have to fit a cat to get through IVA.

Guest chelcott