Clutch Cable Or Gearbox?

Guest smegheadsteve

Guest smegheadsteve

Hi all,newbie here!

Having a bit of trouble with my 2B.

When it warms up it can be really awkward getting it into first and second gear,but it's ok when it's cold!

I am wondering about the clutch cable,as it runs in between the exhaust manifold and the outer plastic has melted away.Or could it be the gearbox?

The donor car we bought was a non running F reg 2.0 sierra,so the gearbox wasn't checked.We did fit a new clutch though.

Any pointers on where to start looking would be much appreciated.

Are there any clutch cable routing mods I should know about?

Cheers.

Steve.

Steve

start by taking the clutch cable off and see if its seizing up, the inner should fall freely in the outer when held up - if its stiff and needs pulling to move its time to replace it.

go for the 2wd cosworth cable, much longer and can be routed away from the exhaust - part no. is qhc1585

Steve

the cables sounds knackered, it needs wrapping in either exhaust wrap, or protecting using copper wire to transfer the heat away from one piont

Mitch

Guest smegheadsteve
Steve

start by taking the clutch cable off and see if its seizing up, the inner should fall freely in the outer when held up - if its stiff and needs pulling to move its time to replace it.

go for the 2wd cosworth cable, much longer and can be routed away from the exhaust - part no. is qhc1585

Steve

Cheers Steve,have you got the cossie cable on your's?is it a straight swap?

Guest turbo

i had the exact same problem as you describe

through a search this is covered, and from that i glued a piece of thick as will fit wire loom cable into the clutch ratchet below the cable.

what this does is pulles the cable slightly more for the same amount af pedal movement(probably will be enough to compensate the expansion of the cable due to heat.

i lived with this problem for 1 year and just sorted it before my trip to stoneleigh and it has improved 80%