Fibreglass Repair

nelmo

Following on from my wing-ejection event, I need to try and repair some damage, if possible.

I've never done any such repair before so any advice would be helpful. Below is a pic of the damage. It looks like there is a thick layer of plastic over the fibreglass - is that right or is that how fibreglass comes out after buffing up? Is it repairable?

wing.jpg

The gloss finish is the coloured gelcoat that's applied first when laying up the guard in its mold. The stranded glass fibre is then put down on top of that. I think I would look for a replacement part as it would be easier than trying to repair it.

Edited by cb750

Your challenge will be matching the gelcoat colour, to be honest. Assuming there's still some strength in what you have left there, I would just fill it conventionally (either a GRP-based one like P40, or else conventional P38 if there's not that much depth there) and then get the whole arch sprayed. I've never tried mixing gelcoat to match an existing color and I would be worried that the colour you get in the mixing pot prior to applying is a few shades different after the activator has gone off and the stuff has set, and once it's on there'll be no getting it off.

• Like 2

Follow Dan's advice, it still looks as if the wing has plenty of meat left, so just cosmetic fill & paint --- paint both fronts if there is a slight colour mis-match that shows 'cause there's a chance t'other one will fly if fixed the same.

Follow Dan's advice, it still looks as if the wing has plenty of meat left, so just cosmetic fill & paint --- paint both fronts if there is a slight colour mis-match that shows 'cause there's a chance t'other one will fly if fixed the same.

Yes, I will be re-doing the other wing as well so I could just paint both - good idea. However, if GBS will do me one wing for £40 (£80 for the pair), then that's probably not much more than I'll end up paying for filler, paint etc.