New Member - Engine Question

Guest Palmario

Guest Palmario

Hi Guys

I'm new to here having just got my hands on an 2b plus rolling chassis and kit. im sure as this is my first build and my only assistance is my 9yr old son this will be my first post of many !!

looking forward to he help an advice from all of you who have experienced similar issues that I am about to.

my first question is about the engine - I may have sourced sierra V6 EFI RWD engine, has anyone had experience of using a similar engine and does it fit ?

Thanks guys

Richard

Richard

Welcome on board. I can't specifically answer your question as I drive a Zero, but on the basis the someone is currently installing a Jaguar V6 in to a 2B chassis I think the answer would be yes. I am sure there will be people far more in the know than me on the subject along in a while. They may be able to advise more on what is required.

Guest Palmario

Thanks for the welcomes and thoughts, im thinking I might give it a go as for the time and work spent, im hoping to get it running and enjoy it before my son passes his test and takes it off me !!

Thanks again

Richard

The V6 EFI is it 2.8 or 2.9? Friends of mine race Sierra Super Rods so have good knowledge of rear wheel drive Cologne V6 in its 2.9 form

You need to source a gearbox, the 2 to look for are the MT75 and Type 9, be aware that both V6 versions designed to mate to the V6 are slightly different to the inline 4 pot variants.

A934A12A-24DB-423A-8195-35AE0D9104A6-1535-000001421D89B24D.jpg

These are the Type 9 differences

Edited by Snapperpaul

I have a Sierra XR4x4 2.9 V6 Cologne engine in my hood. Fitted well with a bit of work mated to a V6 Type 9 Gearbox shall try and upload a photo or 2 to show the fit but it fits well and fairly easy with no modification to the chassis.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Palmario