Weber Carb

Guest nightracer35

Guest nightracer35

can ant 1 tell me do i need a stepper motor on my webber carb, if so what does it do?? the reason for asking is i have bought this carb but came without the plug for stepper motor, and the throttle bracket to fasten to the inlet manifold.

any info greatly needed

many thanks ron

Guest SEgan

I am no expert but I think it depends on the type of ignition system you are using. ESC 1 type does not have a stepper motor on the carb, if you have ESC 2 some of the connections go to the stepper motor on the carb.

Sean

Guest Simon cooper

Ditch it!

The stepper motor is a form of idle control and is therefore run by an ecu. if you do not have the ECU and the correct loom, you will not get it to run right. You can bodge the linkage but you have no idle screw. The other disadvantage with that carb is the mixture screw is hard up against the rocker cover and an absolute b1tch to set. Bin it!

Simon

Guest robert cockling
Ditch it!

The stepper motor is a form of idle control and is therefore run by an ecu. if you do not have the ECU and the correct loom, you will not get it to run right. You can bodge the linkage but you have no idle screw. The other disadvantage with that carb is the mixture screw is hard up against the rocker cover and an absolute b1tch to set. Bin it!

Simon

Hi I was about to raise another topic regarding Stepper motors and Weber carbs , but I might as well jump in here.

Are you saying ditch the whole carb or just the stepper motor

I have the electronic plug on my car and it's connected to some ECU (Ford Sierra Circa 1988) and now that I've hopefully sorted my cooling problem(see under another topic) I'm looking to sort out my car performance issues. I noticed that when I disconnected the plug the car seemed to sound better and pull a bit better (although maybe this is wishful thinking!!), and with a bit more popping and banging on overrun (nice!!)