HELP!! Building a Super Spec From Rolling State

oldskoolford

Hi to all,

I am completely new to Robin Hood Kit Cars and have acquired a Super Spec.

The first owner has fitted the body panels and riveted them on.  That's pretty much it as far as I believe?  Could anyone please tell me the best build order to help me get going as I am very lost!  Is it worth just fitting the panels around the petrol tank or go straight for sorting out and installing the loom?  I don't find the robin hood videos very helpful as they are not detailed enough to help a novice.  Is this the consensus on this forum maybe?  Are there only 3 discs for the super spec videos?  That's all I have.

IMG-20190121-WA0003.jpg

Many Thanks

Lloyd.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Lloyd

Welcome to the club, I to have a super spec but only the standard one not the turbo, unfortunately I didnt build mine but I also only have 3 DVDs and I know what you mean about how useful they would be to a novice. 

There are a few of us with supers active on the forum so someone may have built theirs, our main "guru" is Alan Richey but I'm sure he didn't build his either.

Hi Lloyd

Welcome to another Superspec. There are about a dozen Superspec owners that we know about, but not many of us actually built our cars, so there is not much first hand building knowledge around. However, if you search back over the posts in this forum you can find quite a lot of information from the people who originally built the cars between 2003-2009.

You've got the Superspec build instructions in the 3 DVDs, but they were meant to provide extra details and differences from the Robin Hood Project 2B build instructions. I think there are 16 videos for the 2B that were uploaded to YouTube, so they would be worth a watch for basic build info, if only for a laugh! See part 1 at www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoXGacMEi-E