Thinking Of Buying 'n' Building

Guest jasonmorris

Guest jasonmorris

Hi,

I'm thinking of buying the new zero kit and transfering all the doner bits from my series 2 across to it. Thing is I've never built a car from scratch before and am just a little daunted (although excited) by the task that lies in front of me.

Do any members have zero's on the road yet that have passed SVA, if so I would appreciate any info on the quality of the kit and about ease of built. Although I am not an engineer, I would considder myself at least fairly able and have in the past been able to do jobs such as simple servicing, stripping rear suspension etc...

I would also appreciate any build tips regarding the kit, tools recommended modifications to the kit etc...

Also does anyone know if the GRP panels are available in carbon fibre as I am going to treat this project as a labour of love and want it to look really special.

Jazzym

p.s. I'm going to the factory on Wednesday to look at the car and hopefully Richard will be able to take me for a ride, weather permitting, and if i like the way it drives and looks then I'll leave a deposit.

Edited by Jazzym

Guest boggybogstar

go for it, so far it's the best thing Ive ever done, I no longer have to suffer nights inside where the wife and teenage daughters seem to be hooked on soaps and big brother !!!!!

I'm no where near finished, only picked up the Zero a month or so ago and so far rear suspension and drums are on, brake and fuel pipes completed and the seat back and ss panels fitted - no real headaches so far - although there have been a few issues (Diff bolt holes didnt line up and rear suspension took a bit of persuading)

I reckon they can be built quite quickly although I want to take my time (2010?)

I went for the plus kit plus gbs crate zetec, ecu, throttle bodies etc, I reckon the total by the end will be between £7k to £7.5k ish

Guest jasonmorris