Mixture Too Rich Starting On Efi

Guest Tom Lawless

Guest Tom Lawless

:boohoo: Hi Guys; I am having a problem with my pinto 2.0L injection engine. When starting from cold the mixture is much, much too rich. I can see flames from the exhaust at times which look like unburnt fuel being ignited in the exhaust with some popping, ocaisional bangs and lots of black smoke. If the engine is allowed to tick over for too long the plugs soot up and have to be changed. When it finally does heat up the mixture appears to correct its self. I suspect that the engine temp sensor or the air temp sensor in the metering valve. Any ideas will be appreciated.

Thanks Tom Lawless

I am no expert but could it be you have one plug not firing properly? I have had this before now but you can hear it. Sooting up? What about new oils seals on the valve stems? Just a few thoughts.

Regards

Peter

Guest Tom Lawless

Hi Peter; The valve stem seals have been replaced and the plugs have also been replaced. The engine is running oa all four cylinders. The engine starts to run properly, quite suddenly when it reaches normal working temperature. This is why I suspect the temperature sensors.

Thanks for reply.

Tom Lawless

Guest Simon cooper

Hi Tom,

Has this problem just come on or is this first time you have started it since build etc??

First thing would be temp sensor. This is the white one below the inlet manifold in the centre. Other possibles are obviously the associated wiring of the sensor and the ECU earths.

Check the resistance accross the temp sensor when cold. i cannot remember the values off the top of my head but i can find out if you let me know.

Other causes are air flow meter sticking, normaly caused by back fire into the manifold which causes the flap to buckle.

Get back to me if you are still stuck.

Good luck

Simon

Guest Tom Lawless

Hi Simon;