Engine Tuning - Rolling Road Or Mobile

Guest Angel Boy

Guest Angel Boy

Pretty much as the title says really. My car is running like a bag of bolts after dropping a 2lt in on a fr32 and 38dgas with the rhe s/s exhaust system. I have limited experience and don't have the tools (ie stobe light etc) so I am after any recommendations to a rolling road/mobile tunning in the Hull area.

If I try really hard and have the patience of a saint I recon I can get the timing good enough so it will limp to the centre.

Current symtoms are idles at 1500-2000rpm, when you put your foot down to rev it coughs (loudly with a plume of fuel/air spurting out of the carb (the wrong way)) which will either cause it to stall or cough again and eventually pick up. When it gets warm it struggles to idle, I have to keep blipping the throttle which causes the other problem. :angry: :rolleyes:

If anyone has any suggestions on either I would be v happy :D

Thanks and a virtual beer.

Andy

I had a similar problem, but not quite as severe. I recently changed the head, fitted a Kent FR30 and a 38 DGAS and found that by setting it up 'by ear' I could get it running half decent. But like you, once the choke came out it would not idle as smoothly as I wanted and dabbing the throttle would cause the revs to dip and cough before taking off. I got a mobile tuner round to have a looksy and he discovered that all was fine and dandy with my setting up except the dizzy timing was out by around 14 degrees and the mixture was slightly rich. A little tweak here and there and it was running sweet as a nut.

I need to think about getting a strobe light. I got the guy to get his cheap backup strobe light out and show me how to use it. Good bit of kit really.