First Base

Guest bloke

hey up

i am looking to start wiring the mota up soon but have never done any before!

i have a vg loom and a full donor loom labeled (glxi)

as i am a complete beginner can any of you more experienced builders offer any nuggets of wisdom?

like can i use pull straps to fix to the chassis? any areas tricky to connect? any tricks of the trade i should know to protect me investment/ health!!?

any help will be much appreciated

Guest Battery Bill

Bloke

We have used the Sierra loom totally and it has been a lot of fun doing so, There has been a lot of talk about the "VG loom" not much of it positive neither so good luck. :unsure:

I don't think cable ties would be sufficient for Mr SVA (I dont know why, because they are good enough for aeroplanes) P clips are the things to use, you can get them cheep from Tifosi. ^_^

Have a look at our website and see the mess our wires were in at one point, they are a bit better now but not totally finished. (Oh and our battery is in the back too, did we mention that?) :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And they've been doing their wiring since Newark (or was it earlier?)

If you want to use the Sierra loom, you need to lay it all out, then remove bits that aren't needed, eg, electric windows, door lights, etc. etc. (see Bill & Joeys site) Alternatively you could fit a new loom. the VG loom IMHO leaves a bit to be desired, there is a loom from Premier wiring (See Kit car mags) that does get a good press, but will cost you in the region of £100.

There are a few differences amongst Uncle Henry's sierra's, and this shows in the wiring, area's that give most problems are the ignition systems, and the coupling to control stalks.

whatever you do, don't throw any bits away until you've got it all working correctly.

When you have to either shorten wires, or put connectors on, use solder & heat shrink sleeving, it will take longer, put will be a much better job than crip-on connectors.