Air Filter

Guest docter fox

Guest docter fox

im a complete novice and have just bought a hood 2 litre s7 :D

it has a 2 litre engine and a replacement weber carb, the guy i bought it off gave me a "RAMAIR" filter to fit with the car but it needs a hole cutting in the bonet to fit.

i thought this would a relatively simple job until someone asked wouldnt the rain get in?

I have seen loads of cars with airfilters like this but never really thought about it

this may be me being ridiculous and overly simple but wont the water go in just like the air does if it startes to rain and surely this cant do much good for the engine?

theres probably a very simple explanation but what is it?

Thanks for the help

James

Guest Stephen Waite

As i said in the car back 'don't go out when its moist j'

The water shouldn't hard performance in any way but if you are worried you could construct a cover for the filter.

Or you could have a bonnet buldge which i know you'd love! :wub:

Steve

Guest Battery Bill

Hey Home made water injection system :D :D

I think it would probably work better if its a light drizzle, but some of the downpours we have had of late might be a bit much :lol: :lol:

Ignor the plebs! you don't really want the air filter stuck out through the bonnet, it looks bl00dy awfull! the first problem is that it probably has a crappy carb on it, you need either a 32/36 DGAV or a 38 DGAS, then fit a foam air filter so that it doesn't need to stick through the bonnet. (at a push, you can remove the bakealight thick gasket between the carb & manifold to give more clearance)

Guest docter fox

iv seen that there are some twin 45 webers in the for sale section, is this a good path to go down? (if the insurance man will let me)

how much difference would they make and at what cost to fuel consumption?

Thanks

James