Brake Pipe Routing

Guest Paul Gretton

Guest Paul Gretton

Call me stupid, but even after 20 odd years as a mechanic I can't decide on the best routing to fit the front to rear brake pipe in my Sub K.

Starting from the rear T piece, should I run it along the centre tunnel tube tops up to where the gear lever/dashboard bottom is and then along inside the footwell panel (gearbox side) and up to the master cylinder. My tunnel top/bulkhead is not yet fitted.

Also, has anyone tried using an inline pressure limiter such as that from a MK3 Fiesta connected directly to the master cylinder. I think that to locate and accurately adjust the Sierra inertia type will be a pain in the you know what.

All ideas gratefully appreciated.

Paul.

Hi Paul,

Well I put my tunel together befor I relised I hadn't put anything inside it!

I took the drivers side off again and routed the 2 fule pipes and break pipe through it and used P-clips to secure them to the inside of the pasenger tunnel side. They go round the left side of the gearbox and disapear into there respective locations.

I also put a 20mm diamiter PTFE pipe in with cable ties that runs from the engine bay to the back of the tunnel so I can route the electrics through it, then I put the side of the tunnel back on. I can get the wires through the pipe by sucking some string through it with a vachume cleaner.

I fitted the pressure limiter from the sierra but on reading other posts I may take it out. I have rear drums and front disks and apparentley as drums are not as good as the front disks it passes the break test anyway, so if I have the valve in then I may loose rear break effot on heavy deceliration. This wouldn't show up on a pressure test as the car is stationery!