Very Hot Cockpit

Guest micky bigthumbs

Guest micky bigthumbs

I wanted to know is it normal in a series 111a for the cockpit to be very hot the car runs ok , but it gets unbareable on long runs , im new to hoods and have only restored mine and i dont know what the norm is. :wub:

Guest timswait

In a robin hood you are sat with the engine and gear box right next to you so it can get a little hot. If it's a hot day then my 2B is definitely uncomfortable with the roof up (all the more excuse to get it off!).

There are a few things you can do to improve it though. Does the heat come from the heater, if so, it may be worth disconnecting it for the summer months (just connect the two hoses that go to it together). If the heat's coming from the engine bay then make sure the firewall is properly sealed so no air an blow through from the engine bay. Also wrapping the exhaust manifold in lagging will reduce the under bonnet temperatures, and so should make the cockpit a little cooler.

Make sure the pedal box is on, and fits well. Fill in the big hole that's in the side of it somehow.

If it has a heater (in those days they actually fitted the sierra heater) make sure that there are no gaps around it. Basically you have to seal the engine bay from the cockpit.

Guest micky bigthumbs

Thanks to All... on closer inspection the two colanders that are the fire wall and pedal box need some serious plugging there is a heater but it is in a fixed hot position and i think the guy that built it only had a 3" drill bit.

Hi Micky,