Ignition Electrickery Problem.

Bob Tucker

OK.

The XE is ready to run so I checked the ignition system Ive installed.

Its an 8V dizzy, ECU & coil from an 85 1.8 Cavalier, complete with the original wiring loom.

The strange bit....

When I hold the coil HT lead near the cylinder head & spin the motor I get a spark you could weld with.

A big, fat, blue cracker.

When I fitted one of the original plugs the spark was thin & feeble, so I bought a new set of NGK BCPR7ES

Same result.

Any ideas?

Or is this what I should expect?

Are these plugs resistance types (from the R in the type?)

Should I try a non-resistance set??

Appreciate any advice,

Bob

All day gone Bob and not one reply.

I'm no electrician (as you probably know) but I think a fat spark on the HT lead is normal.

Someone else on here may profer as to why though.

With regards to the Spark Plugs, I think the R (for Resistance) is there simply to donate something to do with not upsetting your ICE.

Now stand back and watch me get lambasted :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :cray: :cray: :sorry:

Ta Grizzly!

Nice to know someones out there....

And your ideas do fit with what I think I know... :huh:

Dont worry,

Now stand back and watch me get lambasted

We only "lambast" our turkey at Christmas... :D

Im not much good at digital photography either....Ive spent all day clicking away while my wife

turns the starter key.......not one single picture of my feek & weeble plug spark to post.... :D

Ta Bob

Guest salty_monk

Bob,

I've been through all this recently with my Bike.

The R stands for resistor & is there to prevent it upsetting any electrics in the car (injection, pumps etc etc). There are various other ways to deal with it though & resistor plugs are uncommon now. Two other methods are restistor or Shielded leads (pretty much the norm these days) or plug caps with resistors in them (also uncommon these days).