Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New Electrics Run And Issues


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 wowblaauw

wowblaauw

    Builder

  • RHOCaR 17
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Tickhill, Doncaster
  • Car type:GBS Zero std

Posted 02 September 2017 - 04:24 PM

All, some of you will know my electrical woes are some 8 months old. Briefly I decided to replace the home made electrical system in my Zero last winter and ordered brand new gbs chassis and engine looms at great expense. After making some school boy errors with earthing etc I got onto cranking the engine. Here is where my 6 months of frustration started and ended today with having the car collected and brought back on the back of a truck. After fitting the loom 3 times and removing it three times I decided to run the loom outside of the car to find out why the ecu wasn't switching the ignition circuit. It seems that the ecu pin 4 (emerald k3) wasn't making contact with the engine loom block connector. Despite mentioning it to gbs several times gbs insisted on saying that there was nothing wrong with their looms and had never had a failure. Well they have now. Following a sort of fix with a bent ecu pin to make the connection I drove the car 20 miles to Sheffield today and all was well until it failed. Got it home and despite my many efforts to make this coonection work I can't. Seems though the block connector will not engage with the ignition pin 4.

What I'm after is has anybody else had issue with their gbs loom in this way and what was th fix if any? As before I will be extremely grateful for any help.

Thanks in advance, Craig

#2 Longboarder

Longboarder

    Old Stager

  • RHOCaR 17
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,986 posts
  • Location:Plymouth.
  • Car type:New 111

Posted 03 September 2017 - 10:12 AM

I don't know the structure of the block plug but most have individual female connectors crimped on the wire end and pushed into the block where they are held by a metal tang on the connector so they don't come back out easily when the block is pushed into the ECU. It may be that you have a faulty connector 4 or that the tang was not engaged and the connector has pushed back part out of the block. You can try to part disassemble the block and investigate. Yes they are tiny and difficult to fiddle with. Some blocks will disassemble, some you have to probe with the right shaped instrument to lift the tang and free the connector from the block so you can examine it and rectify/replace the connector. Difficult but do-able.

 

Nigel


Thought for the week.
Forget healthfoods. I need all the preservatives I can get.


#3 knights_templar

knights_templar

    Wheely good builder!

  • Community user
  • 1,186 posts
  • Car type:zero

Posted 03 September 2017 - 10:55 AM

Morning Nigel

 

The Emerald uses this plug

 

https://www.dropbox....u plug.jpg?dl=0

 

And these terminals

 

https://www.dropbox....fn/ter.jpg?dl=0

 

Which are available separately

 

The terminals are released by lifting a catch in pin slot of the block

 

have had to replace them, wires can be pulled out with a lot of handling, but often damage is caused by probing, safer to probe from the wire side if you absolutely have to.



#4 Longboarder

Longboarder

    Old Stager

  • RHOCaR 17
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,986 posts
  • Location:Plymouth.
  • Car type:New 111

Posted 03 September 2017 - 08:59 PM

Yes. Fiddly job but can be done. (As I recently found out with putting the terminals on the wires to my VVTPro ECU. Had a 50% success rate before I stopped crimping and soldering and just crimped.) Similar terminals to the Emerald ones. Bought spares from Maplins as it used a molex plug.

 

Nigel


Thought for the week.
Forget healthfoods. I need all the preservatives I can get.


#5 mcramsay

mcramsay

    Wheely good builder!

  • Community user
  • 1,754 posts
  • Location:somerset
  • Car type:zero

Posted 04 September 2017 - 08:30 PM

Hey Craig, I have a load of emerald ecu pins in my electrical box, I can send you a few you are stuck, pm me if you need any help,

The pins come out easily if you have a micro flat blade screwdriver almost like what you would find in a watch makers tool kit

#6 wowblaauw

wowblaauw

    Builder

  • RHOCaR 17
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Tickhill, Doncaster
  • Car type:GBS Zero std

Posted 09 September 2017 - 11:05 AM

All, thank you very much for all of your input. I managed to get some spare pins and will be attempting to replace the faulty pin next week - trials of new baby and work life balance...Thanks in particular to Knights_Templar and mcramsay - used to date a mcramsey back in the day. Am sure it isn't you.



#7 wowblaauw

wowblaauw

    Builder

  • RHOCaR 17
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Tickhill, Doncaster
  • Car type:GBS Zero std

Posted 11 September 2017 - 09:45 PM

Hi All, just a quick updat; received spare pins from GBS last week and following the instructions as detailed above managed to replace the affected ignition switch pin and we now have a running motor again. Mot take two coming at the weekend.

Thanks again everyone for all of your help and advise, very much appreciated.

Cheers

Craig