Non Starting Superspec

Guest watfordyellowspec

Guest watfordyellowspec

Hello everyone, I am a new user and this is my first post. Firstly I'd just like to say what a fantastic site this is!

and secondly.... my superpsec wont start. Im about half way through the build and decided to complete the main wiring so I could get the engine going to hear that all important roar. I have not connected any of the lights or associated switches as yet but have completed all other wiring and installed relays etc. All wires for non connected components have been isolated and the earths earthed.

The engine turns over but when I turn the ignition on there are no clicks form the relays. Im really a novice when it comes to electrics but I have put the voltmeter across the relays and there seems to be something wrong. Ive got 12V at terminals 1, 2 and 3 on all the relays even when the ignition is off. When I turn the ignition on, I get 12V coming INTO the ECU and Lambda relays at terminal 5 (apparently from the ECU). This doesnt seem correct at all and am obviously not having the relays actuate. They do work as I have tested them, has anyone got any ideas?

I havent connected the instrument cluster either yet as again I just wanted that peace of mind that she fires and runs. Surely that shouldnt make any difference to the circuits working properly or am I wrong?

Any help most gratefully received!!

Guest salty_monk

Welcome to the board.

Can't offer you any pearls of wisdon I'm afraid. A fellow superspeccer will hopefully pop up soon, or maybe Longboarder with one of his diagrams :D

Guest chris brown

Colin

Welcome to the site I don’t know much about the SS but I suspect you are corect in that the instrument cluster shouldn’t make any difference. I'd be more concerned with the fact that none of the relays energize. The fuel pump relay should energize for about half a second then drop back out when you switch the ignition on then energize again on cranking.