Newark (saturday)

Guest red7

I arrived at opening time (10.00) and made my way over to the RHOCAR club area. After saying my hello's to Tim, Sue, Ian, Lee, Chris P, Mitch & Chris, Eric, Peter etc etc. I wandered over to the Exhibition Hall. GBS probably had the biggest stand and I took a good look at the display Zero 7 & space frame, it looked a bit more flimsy than the MK but I'm not an automotive engineer.

The show was smaller than any Newark show I've been to, a shame since it's their 25th anniversary.

The heavy rain & flooding on Friday night had prooved hazardous to the Hoodies. The A1 had been shut due to flooding and Tim Norman had come close to being fried when a lighting bolt hit the road in front of him. Only Tim would describe his experience as "That lighting, It's bright sh1t".

The poor weather had put a lot of the punters off attending and the exhibitors I spoke to were very dissapointed. Will they be here next year?

In the afternoon the showers gave way to a spell of hot sunshine and a group of us sat around drinking Danish lager (thanks to Sue) and hearing Joey Browns motor racing tales. He's growing up fast and I was pleased to hear he's doing very well.

During the afternoon a Spitfire passed over the show field and pulled a few tight turns showing that un-mistakable wing profile and thilling us whith that wonderful merlin engine throb.

I set off home at four after a good day with the RHOCAR stalwarts.

Looking forward to Smallways in July and Tan Hill in August.

Guest shane1664

I too went ont he Saturday, I felt it wasnt as big as it had been in the three previous consecutive years, but now being just over a year & 4 months into the build i think its been the best one ive been to content wise! I had a real good look around some of the cars and ive got to say, there are some fantastic ideas out there B)