Simon Parish

Hi all

I am thinking of a little winter project - a digital speedo.

I'm deciding to play scrooge this Christmas and not to spend money on buying on. Instead im going to try and build one. Now I'm not that good at this mechanics lark, but have been looking into the building of an electronic speedo. The one pint I'm pondering at the moment is Can I take the current speedo cable out of the gearbox and fit a hall effect sensor that would then be able to give me the signal output I need to get the digital speedo working

All help and advice would be greatly received

Thanks Simon

Hi RichardL

That is similar to what I was thinking, was looking at the Arduino board to drive all of the dash and get the inputs. Would love to share your code.

Currently I have the original Sierra instruments, but will be looking over the winter months to go for a digital speedo and odometer and then maybe even put the fuel, rev counter and temp guages over to the digital as time and knowledge allows

Guest peter2b2002

i have a hall effect sensor that I fitted to the end of the speedo cable but changed it as the drive gear in the box gave up , if you would like the sensor pm me for details

peter2b

Excellent little project! I love playing with MCUs too, I did a little project to make a sequential gear position indicator on an Atmel MCU...