2nd Rant

Guest peter2b2002

Guest peter2b2002

why is it to insure my 2nd car just for tpf&t I had a quote of £140.56 (up from 110 last year) for me and HID, tried it for just myself £276.96 :shok: tried getting quotes from others , always the same when I put her on a a second drive the quote goes down,

any one know why? as we both have clean licences, no claims + max NC discount also both insured on other cars

peter2b

I couldn't get a reasonable quote for my car fully comp, admitedly I didn't save much by going TPFT but it was enough. And it's only cheaper to put the wife on your insurance if she hasn't put her car into a ditch in the last 5 years!

My missus was complaining last year that her insurance had gone up and it was because I'd got a 2nd speeding on my license and I was a named driver.

So we removed me as a named driver and re-ran the quote and it came out even dearer ???? - obviously they figure I'm less of a risk that her and, as a named driver, the more driving I do in the car will leave less time available for her to be driving and have a crash.

I've basically sussed that the reason that insurance works like this .....

INSURANCE COMPANIES ARE RUN BY PEOPLE WHO WERE TOO STUPID TO WORK IN A BANK.

This is also probably the reason that this happened - I recently sold my 1998 VW Transporter 1.9td (69bhp) panel van which I had insured fully comp, S,D & P cover - no business use (just a private vehicle) and it was costing me £446 to insure with my 9 years NCB and 6 points. As they wouldn't swap the insurance to a car, I cancelled it (it's run just under 5 months) and they charge me 80% of the premium, plus a percentage of the premium, plus a £75 cancellation fee. So basically it cost me an extra £9 to cancel the policy 7 months early. Grrrrr

I've now got an Audi S6 Avant 4.2 V8 340bhp and the premium has increased to just £477 for the same cover (different insurance company though).

And finally, when is NCB not NCB?