Absolute Beginner!

Guest LTD

Hi, can anyone help an absolute beginner choose the right car (7 type)?

I don't want to build a car, just buy a well cared for used one.

For many many years I have doted over the early Marcos cars (sorry!), suddenly brought to a grinding halt by my recent visit to Newark where I was totally overwhelmed by the sheer amount of 7's around.

In little-to-no-time at all I found myself getting more and more drawn into the various enclosures, finally ending up at the Robin Hood corner. From that moment on I was smitten and all I can find myself doing now is scouring the mags for a 7!!!

So, if I can be forgiven for my years of Marcosing, can anyone clue me up as to what car to buy to suit my needs?

OK, firstly - I don't need a track spec car, just something relatively new with some degree of comfort - is that possible, the comfort bit I mean?

My budget is quite low, around £4500 tops.

Typical of what I like is one I have seen in this month's KitCar magazine ((June 03 page 157 and 161) - it's a Robin Hood Exmo 2.0 EFI (what's EFI stand for?), Bentley blue/silver, price £3900 ono.

Another I have seen has a stainless steel chassis - something that really appeals to me as I would intend keeping the car for a long time. Can anyone tell me if this is a one-off or if all RH's have this as standard? Also, one is stated as having a stainless steel 'monocoque' chassis.. what is that???

Ok, a few more questions if I may.

Why is there such a variation in price for similar age cars - i.e, £2500 up to £12000 and some even more? Obviously some fit really expensive engines etc - I realise that, but is that all there is in it???

I notice many of these cars are very low mileage - why is this? Why do people not seem to keep them for long after having gone to all the trouble of building them, only to sell them on so quickly?

Which engine? I see many have the Pinto engine - is this for any special reason?