Which Kit?

Guest Goaty

Guest Goaty

Hey,

I am new to the kit car world but have really got my heart set on building a 7 style kit.

I know what engine i am using but i was hoping anyone could help me make the choice of which kit would be suitable.

The engine is a 2.1 Supercharged Zetec running 300+bhp and i imagine torque wont be much less either.

I have been planning to use the RH 2B+ kit but have been hearing things about the strength of them, and it may not handle it, especially if i am using it on the track for fun.

Any advice or info would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

joe

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest tom2b

the 2b in my opinion is probably one of the strongest kits around due to its tubular construction. Id imagine the new "hood" would be an ideal candidate for your monster of an engine.

The Super Spec came with a 200bhp turbo option and has had no problems with the power that i have heard about, and there are V6 and V8 versions about.

If you have 300bhp, then what ever you put it in you will have to be prepared to develop the chassis a bit.

The 2b is stronger than the average 7 type chassis and the new Hood with its double wishbone front and rear could be just the thing, especially at the price.

Even if you don,t go the Robin Hood route, keep us informed of your progress, we are all Kit Car Petrol Heads and would like to hear how you get on.

Guest Goaty

Hi,

thanks for the replys.

I have been tempted by the 2b for a while now as a mate built one not too long ago and its so kool, i just have to have one. Especially if i can get my engine in fine.

I have been looking at the Locost's to but i dont like the idea of having a Live rear axle.

Also i have seen Unfinished project 2b's on ebay going from £1k+, so this is very tempting as other kits cost many thousands more. I will most likely go for the 2b for these reasons, aslong as there is no major set backs.