Building A Zetec Engine Loom For Zero?

Guest Andy Gaskell

Guest Andy Gaskell

hi all,

Does anyone know if there are any detailed 'how to' or diagrams for building your own Zetec engine wiring loom to join up to the gbs zero loom and emerald?

I have the zero fitted with a 2lt zetec and the latest gbs chassis loom, the original injection loom for the zetec and jenvey throttle bodies.

The made up loom wil have to connect to everything in the engine bay ie. fuel pump etc so will need to know pin configs for the emerald ecu and gbs loom??

I am an electrician so not a novice to wiring etc.

After all this am i just being cheep? should i just buy the loom from gbs? just irritating thinking of paying over 300 pounds for that small loom! especially since i have the injection loom and the engine plugs etc already..

any help you guys could pass on would be great cheers!

Andy

When I changed to injection the engine loom was completely unwrapped but no wires disconnected. Plugged all in where possible gave some idea of routing,used minitrunk screwed/glued to nearest chassis rail then fed in each wire;short/lengthen each as required. When all done & engine/instruments running correctly cut mintrunk for any wire exits req. & taped flying ends to plugs.

Been a good-un for 15,000miles -- so has main loom which is made from donor loom.

I presume you have an emerald already. I would go to the scrap yard and get the plugs for the Coil pack, crank sensor, temp sensor cut erm off with a bit of wire on to attach your loom to. On the emerald webpage the ECU pinout should be there. You would need a fuse and relay for the fuel pump. Also might me a good ideal to put a fuse into the power supply for the ecu.

Injectos connectors you can just cut off the loom you already have now. Also you can buy a TPS connector from Jenvey. Am not an electrician but managed to wire up all my car loom and engine loom with a lot of help on here.

Here is a link to emerald manual