Speedo sensor

Mrbarry

So I am having issues with my Speedo sensor. Main issue, I have smashed 6 in as many months. It’s getting silly now. I set the gap from the prop to the max and all is well, but one hard gear change later it goes with a rattle, few of these and it grabs and rips it to pieces. Obviously a little float in the prop at the diff end then. 

Sooooo. I have a Mazda based kit and I’m told there is a stock sensor option in the rear of the box?? I am told I can run a smiths Speedo from it. Has anyone got experience of this?? Tia

I have no idea what mounts are used I didn’t do the build. I was under the illusion the diff was solid mounted? 

I beieve the issue to be the engine and gear box mounts allowing float, this would create articulation of the prop so that it can hit the sensor. As the sensor bracket is mounted to the body the two meet in a sticky end. More investigation needed when I have time  

I have machined polly engine mounts for other cars, I am new to the zero (well it sat for 18 months idle after I purchased it), I have had it mapped at Aldon automotive and it drives well. Just need a speedo :? 

So so far I have made a set up that reduces the throw of the accelerator, mainly to hold it 3 inches lower at rest so I can heal and toe during down shifts, I have done a bit of cosmetic work and changed the wheels. I have Carbotech brakes on order, I have fitted a new clutch master cylinder, and I’ve burned lots of fuel. 🤣

The list now is Speedo, colour change, new seats, vents to get air out of the engine bay, cut a hole for the TBs to get cold air, find out if the radiator fan is switched from a sensor or the ecu and lower it’s threshold, burn more fuel. Oh, and mount the fuel filter cap inside the boot pointing skywards, sick of fuel pouring on my feet as I get to fuel up!!! (I have more of a plan then it sounds)

if if I can’t do anything else I’ll mount the speedo pick up on an upright and pick up on a hub. Bloody cars haha.