Robin Hood in Munich :-)

Craig Poultney

Hi from Munich,

A complete newbie here. Just in the process of buying a Seven in Germany. It has all of the relevant registration documents and even has a historical number plate (not easy to get in Germany). It’s also been here about 15 years. Got a couple of questions that the group may or may not be able to help me with. I’ll post some pics as well to support the questions.

1. what series is the car itself. I think it’s based on the sierra (by looking at the identification pics). Not sure though.

2. Can anyone identify the engine from the pics? Or how can I identify myself? Want to change the cambelt as a precaution (and maybe the cam oil feed pipe) 

3. The dashboard leaves a lot to be desired 🙂 would like to update it also with new dials etc. any tips how to go about this? What materials are best? What instruments are recommended and where can I get them?

Apologies for the multitude of questions in one thread. I’ll try and separate next time.

thanks in advance for the help / advice. Looking forward to getting the car now and getting out for a blast. 

10FDD330-1323-47AA-B5B5-BBCC6366DD14.jpeg

1E6364B1-0607-437D-B529-FD3A9F345A26.jpeg

8504B806-FBB2-497B-B8B3-93A86A70134D.jpeg

839D17F3-FBDB-45D7-82A9-6F6208041BCE.jpeg

49A6EF5D-2CAF-464B-91C7-7F7A28F4E4D8.jpeg

8159AEC6-796F-4AC5-A57F-7A45305F9E4E.jpeg

82856051-D50A-4B11-A843-5B1349758BE8.jpeg

5A68EDF3-C973-4593-A76B-3B1DA7119A77.jpeg

4AB35D6C-02E1-4296-949A-CB16BEB61C28.jpeg

Edited by Craig Poultney

Hi Craig, welcome to the club.

It looks like an S3 to me - have a look here - https://nw.rhocar.org/htm/identification.htm       The clocks and stalks look like Sierra to me as well.