Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

"cheap" Chinese Gauges


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 geordie40

geordie40

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Dartmoor
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec

Posted 06 November 2018 - 07:37 PM

I know I'm probably going to get some flak  =@  but wondering if anyone has had experience with the gauges you see on ebay?

I'm looking to remodel my dash over the winter but don't think I can persuade the wife £400-£500 is an acceptable amount so ive been looking at some chinese ones or the "dolphin/shark" ones from USA.

Nice comments only please :) 

This is ebay link (I think)
https://www.ebay.co....e-/223016484636

https://www.ebay.co....L-/312107618700


Edited by geordie40, 06 November 2018 - 07:58 PM.


#2 nelmo

nelmo

    Magazine Editor

  • Committee
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  • Car type:GBS Zero

Posted 06 November 2018 - 08:26 PM

I feel your pain - I spent ages looking for something cheaper, never found it and had to bite the bullet and pay £400 from GBS.

I've bought numerous cheap things from China before with mixed results; some work out, others are a pile of junk. I try not to spend a lot, so it's not a huge loss if it dies.

However, i will say that they are getting better; I've recently bought a set of LED headights for £65 (nearest equivalent here were about £160) and they seem to be decent quality and are working well, so far...only been on a couple of weeks so i'll hold off on recommending them just yet.

I bought an LED strip for £1.59 (no joke), expecting it to break in 2 minutes but it's been on a few months as an interior light with no problem.

I also bought a £20 bluetooth headset; the first one melted when i tried to recharge it and they happily sent me another. That never worked properly, so they sent me another and that's been fine since.

So, it's a gamble...if you're really short of cash, I'd probably take the risk in this case and get the chinese ones but that's me. ..

I wouldn't bother with the US dials; they're £215 before the customs charge which you will almost certainly get stung for (I've never had a custom charge from Chinese stuff) and they're probably made in China anyway...

Edited by nelmo, 06 November 2018 - 08:30 PM.


#3 geordie40

geordie40

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Dartmoor
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec

Posted 06 November 2018 - 08:35 PM

Thanks nelmo, I'm probably gonna risk it and as you say they are getting better and its not to much to loose if it all goes t*ts up.

And alot of stuff is probably made in China or at least the components are.

And I think I can get the temp gauge made to match the sender already in the tank

#4 nelmo

nelmo

    Magazine Editor

  • Committee
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  • Car type:GBS Zero

Posted 06 November 2018 - 08:46 PM

Also, just noticed:

1. The speedometer on the US set is in km/h only and its mechanical.
2. The speedometer on the chinese set works by GPS! Never heard of that before but does mean you need to site the included GPS antenna somewhere. But saves having to fit a sender/magnets on the prop...

#5 Moog6

Moog6

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Whitburn Scotland
  • Car type:Robin Hood 7S Kit Car

Posted 06 November 2018 - 08:47 PM

I'm selling my Gauges off my Moog, they are white chrome.



#6 geordie40

geordie40

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Dartmoor
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec

Posted 06 November 2018 - 09:13 PM

Thanks Moog only thing that worrys me about 2nd hand gauges is maybe having to match sensors to the gauges but do you have pics?

Nelmo I think the gps sensor is included and fits on scuttle top nr windscreen. I'm going to give the USA ones a miss

Edited by geordie40, 06 November 2018 - 09:20 PM.


#7 alanrichey

alanrichey

    Wheely good builder!

  • Area Secretary
  • 1,166 posts
  • Location:Swayfield, Grantham, Lincolnshire
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec (Rover T16)

Posted 06 November 2018 - 09:43 PM

The speedometer on the chinese set works by GPS! Never heard of that before but does mean you need to site the included GPS antenna somewhere.

 

I fitted one of these (https://www.ebay.co....UK/153123570619) over a year ago as a temporary fix when my speedo cable broke.   The sensor is built in, it just needs a 12V supply.

 

It's still going strong over a year later (and 2 MOTs) and I love it.   Best £18 I ever spent.



#8 Longboarder

Longboarder

    Old Stager

  • RHOCaR 18
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,150 posts
  • Location:Plymouth.
  • Car type:New 111

Posted 06 November 2018 - 11:22 PM

Alan, does that device know the speed limit where ever it is on the road or do you have to set a speed limit and it just beeps or flashes when you exceed the speed you set?


Thought for the week.
Forget healthfoods. I need all the preservatives I can get.


#9 Moog6

Moog6

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Whitburn Scotland
  • Car type:Robin Hood 7S Kit Car

Posted 07 November 2018 - 12:34 AM

I will be removing them shortly.

 

And will be for sale soon. All working. Speedo needs magnets placed near bye i believe?

 Dave.



#10 Moog6

Moog6

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Whitburn Scotland
  • Car type:Robin Hood 7S Kit Car

Posted 07 November 2018 - 12:38 AM

[attachment=22806:Optimized-IMG_1774.JPG

Attached Files



#11 Hawaii Steve

Hawaii Steve

    Builder

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 24 posts
  • Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Car type:Super 7

Posted 07 November 2018 - 06:18 AM

My car has SpeedHut gauges that use GPS for speed. Its a 1” x 1” magnetic based receiver which is directly wired to the gauge. You can mount it anywhere on the hood or front cowling and it works fine. (Takes about 30 seconds to find the Satelite when you first turn it on)

I also have had mixed results from China but have found they do make things good if there’s an issue. Only advise I would have is pay through PayPal so if there is an issue you have the big guns supporting you!!!

Steve

#12 Mrbarry

Mrbarry

    Wheely good builder!

  • Community user
  • 116 posts
  • Location:Wolverhampton
  • Car type:GBS Zero

Posted 07 November 2018 - 06:58 AM

I use an app on my iPhone 8 that does GPS speedo reading and is extremely accurate. It can read in mph, kph, average speed if you want. It tracks your route, max speed, all sorts. Theres loads of apps that do it. Its slow to update on acceleration, perhaps 1/2 second, so no good to time 0-60 or anything but still good. I put it on my dash in my jag set to head up display where it auto adjusts to brightness and works like a charm. So whilst not a permanent speedo as such it does a job if you ever need a work around, or just a HUD for fun.

#13 geordie40

geordie40

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Dartmoor
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec

Posted 07 November 2018 - 07:40 AM

I will be removing them shortly.
 
And will be for sale soon. All working. Speedo needs magnets placed near bye i believe?
 Dave.


Thanks Dave, do you know what make they are and any idea how much your after

#14 alanrichey

alanrichey

    Wheely good builder!

  • Area Secretary
  • 1,166 posts
  • Location:Swayfield, Grantham, Lincolnshire
  • Car type:Robin Hood Super Spec (Rover T16)

Posted 07 November 2018 - 08:58 AM

Alan, does that device know the speed limit where ever it is on the road or do you have to set a speed limit and it just beeps or flashes when you exceed the speed you set?

 

The latter.   I normally have my iPhone mounted with a Satnav app running for speed limits.   I must admit it also has the drawback that there is no built in odometer.



#15 Moog6

Moog6

    Wheely good builder!

  • RHOCaR 18
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Whitburn Scotland
  • Car type:Robin Hood 7S Kit Car

Posted 07 November 2018 - 03:31 PM

Thanks Dave, do you know what make they are and any idea how much your after

I will find out, price not sure yet will let you know.

Regards, Dave.