Which Donor?

Guest minibigfinch

Guest minibigfinch

good afternoon,

i am fairly new to the world of robin hoods, and im currently doing my research into which kits and donor vehicle etc i will go for etc,

im sure this has been asked a million times before but does it matter which sierra donor you go for? which is best etc?

im currently looking at xr4x4 but wanted to see what other people recommended?

dave

I steered clear of the XR's & the Cossie because they're special in many respects. You should be OK with just about anything else, though... Sierra hatch, Sapphire saloon or estate, irrespective of year. Any of those will yield everything you need.

Doesn't matter if rear brakes are disc or drum, because you'll be ditching those anyway. Diff ratio is unimportant as well. Most common are 3.62:1 and 3.92:1 (the metal tag on the back of the diff will tell you what is is). If it's anything other than those two, it doesn't matter, cos it'll be so rare that it's worth an absolute fortune!

What you want are the 2 rear driveshafts & hubs, the diff, the gearbox (either Type 9 or MT75 - doesn't matter), and the top steering column assembly from the wheel downwards, including the plastic cowlings & stalks.

If you're on a budget, you can also get the front hubs (uprights), wiring loom, gearbox mount, instruments, handbrake, and the master cylinder with its reservoir & cap.

Save as many nuts & bolts as you can.

Remember GBS can provide any or all of this for you as part of a donor package.

HTH

Remember GBS can provide any or all of this for you as part of a donor package.

Except of course that the so called "donor package" from GBS doesn't always seem to include a V5 which could complicate registration and leave you with a Q plate because the donor parts have no provenance. Also it's difficult to check the functionality of electrical parts when they're just a load of loose bits - which can make wiring a difficult and hair pulling exercise.