Timing Pinto Engine

Guest pixie clarke

Guest pixie clarke

Hi all

Help need in timing a pinto, please be gentle as I have never done this before. :mellow:

I have got to the point where i need to make sure the engine is running (as i brought a part built, and stripped and started again) so now only just at the stage of testing the engine.

Right here goes

I need to make sure the engine is timed correctly, so the top pulley (Cam Pulley?) has a triangle on it and I see a dot on the engine so when I line these up, the bottom pulley (crank Pulley?) is not aligned with the marks on it to the mark on the engine, and if i align the bottom up the top is nowhere near, but when the top is aligned piston one looks right at the top.

As i have never done this before I take it, i need to make these too points match together first before i do anything else?

Only as I’ve have had conflicting advice on this

Can any help me in simple terms

Will get to the dizzy later

I have some pic’s

PIC01 is the cam pulley where i believe it should be ? but bottom one is not aligned

PIC02 is bottom pulley aligned and then top is way out

PIC03 is showing top position when bottom is aligned

Hope i have explained this OK

Your help will be much appreciated

Paul

post-4004-0-97432200-1303165863_thumb.jpg

post-4004-0-37486600-1303165879_thumb.jpg

post-4004-0-91924100-1303165889_thumb.jpg

Hi Paul.

I had loads of issues getting mine started, mostly because it did not know what I was doing. Have a look at the post below as I had a lot of help that might be able to point you in the right direction.

Cheers

Steve

http://www.rhocar.org/index.php?showforum=6

If this does not work have a look at my posts and it is called 'help'

Guest Noddy006

Hi Paul.